Posts Tagged ‘Sioux’

GoodReads Contest #2

Sunday, June 7th, 2015

GoodReads contest #2

Yes, I know the cover is upside down.

But I wanted to be sure you noticed that this was not the same contest.  This GoodReads contest ends June 11th.  Use this GoodReads Link for a chance to win one of five autographed pre-release copies of my July 1 release, RUNNING WOLF, a Western historical from Harlequin.  This one is open to US residents only.

Here’s a snippet from Running Wolf, just for fun.

She looked at him now.  “A warrior does not admit to fear.”

        “But a woman does.  She cries and uses her tears to gather sympathy.  Yet you do not.”

         “Would that work?”

         “It would make you less interesting.  And you are very interesting.”

         “I do not want your interest.”

         He laughed.  “Then you should not have unseated one of my warriors.”

(c) 2015, Jenna Kernan, Running Wolf

 

 

 



Running Wolf – Coup Feathers

Sunday, April 26th, 2015
Coup feathers drawn by Jenna Kernan

Coup feathers drawn by Jenna Kernan

Coup feathers are a very important component of my July 2015 release, Running Wolf.  These decorative feathers carried great meaning to the wearer and all who saw him.  These feathers were worn tied in the hair, affixed to shields, lances and horse’s manes.  When enough feathers were collected, they might be sewn into a war bonnet, sometimes with a now iconic train of feathers.  Most feathers were from an eagle, though hawk and gull feathers might also be worn.

The actual meaning was derived by how they were worn, how they were cut and how they were marked.  The meaning of these variances varied from tribe to tribe, so the following list is a general accounting as recorded in the book, The Mystic Warriors of the Plains by Thomas E. Mails, 1972.

First Coup Feather – is worn straight up (Omaha)

Second Coup Feather – is worn horizontally to the side (Omaha)

Second Coup Feather – is worn upright and marked with one red bar (Sioux)

Third Coup Feather – is worn upright and marked with two red bars (Sioux)

Fourth Coup Feather – is worn upright and feather has a serrated edge (Sioux)

Fifth Coup Feather – is worn upright and the sides of the feather are removed leaving only the tip intact

Wounding a Man – Feather is dyed red

Wounding a Warrior who had killed an enemy – feather decorated with bands of quillwork

Split Feather – Indicates the warrior sustained many wounds

Black Feather torn down the middle – given to successful scouts

Diagonally Cut Feather – indicated a warrior either cut the enemies throat or took his scalp.

For more on Coup Feathers, visit by STORY BEHIND THE STORY page at www.jennakernan.com



Cover Reveal! RUNNING WOLF

Saturday, March 28th, 2015
Running Wolf, July 2015, Western Historical from Harlequin

Running Wolf, July 2015, Western Historical from Harlequin

 

This is a super day because I just got my hands on the cover for my July Historical release, RUNNING WOLF.    I love this cover for two reasons.  First, and most importantly, the characters look Native American, which is great, because they are Native American!  He’s Sioux and she is Crow.  Second, it’s a clinch cover, which is so great.  I love them.  Please notice the coup feathers in his hair and the wonderful beaded breast plate which I described to the art department and which they delivered beautifully.

Here is the back cover information and a link for pre orders.  I’ll have advanced reading copies soon and will be running giveaways on GoodReads, here on my website and in my newsletter.

RUNNING WOLF, July 2015

by Jenna Kernan

RIVAL TRIBES…

Running Wolf is a valiant Sioux warrior.  During his first raid as war chief, he captures a surprising Crow enemy–a woman!  This spirited fighter is unlink any he’s ever met.  Her beauty and audacity are entrancing, but threaten his iron resolve…

…RIVAL PASSIONS

Snow Raven must focus on freeing herself, not on the man who keeps her captive.  But as she falls deeper under Running Wolf’s spell, she realizes he is her warrior–and she’ll risk everything for him!

“Fans of Karen Kay and Cassie Edwards will savor Kernan’s Indian romances.”  __RT Book Review on His Dakota Captive

ISBN-13: 978-0-373-29839-6

July 15, 2015

Western